Can I have that recipe?

Standard

It is inevidatble that every day I end up talking about food with someone.  Nearly every day I am asked to share a recipe especially about food that I feed my kids.  I love sharing recipes because I believe in GOOD food, not processed, no sugar, no additives, just good clean and real food.

Saying that, it is really hard to cook, prepare and serve good, clean food.  Unless you live on a farm and are removed from the supermarkets and packaged ‘food’ then it’s a bit hard to decipher what is good and what is actually bad.  Anyway you put it, it ALL tastes yummy, especially to kids!

I always try to remember:

If I feed my kids junk, they will eat it.

If I feed them real food, they will eat it.

I think I have found a way to make it easier…

Making good, clean, food for the whole family is a lot easier than it sounds.  If you have cooked with my recipes already, you have already eliminated a lot of sugar and processed flours, you have added fruits and veggies and it all tastes good probably without realising it.  It was just a new recipe to you.

That’s the beauty of eating these recipes.  Don’t think about it, just make it.  Incorporate these recipes into your food routine and eventually they will become the norm of what you are eating.

Don’t try to start from scratch.  I’ve tried it.  It doesn’t work.  You throw out everything from your pantry and cupboards (then you feel guilty for wasting money on the food that you just threw out) and then what are you left with?  Confusion!!!  What do I cook now??

It’s hard enough trying to decide what to make for dinner that everyone will eat but with empty cupboards, it’s even harder.

This is what I suggest:  Don’t throw anything away.  Start replacing things.  When you finish that bag of chips or biscuits, don’t put it back on your grocery list.  Find something else that can replace it.  That way you are changing a little bit at a time and no one is going cold turkey off of their favourite processed foods.  Gradual changes in your eating habits will not be noticed by the rest of your family that easily.  And…you are only replacing one thing at a time, not your entire food repertoire which you have cooked for years and are most familiar with.

In another post, I will tell you why I need to feed my family the best food for them.  It isn’t because it is ‘fashionable’ or the hippy thing to do.

Yes, I will add the recipes that are requested the most and I will post EXACTLY what my kids eat for their school lunches!

About theideasbook

Lover of yummy food! Would love a small farm or a plot of land to grow veggies and herbs on day. Until then, I seek to find the best foods around me (and what I can grow in pots!) to create divine recipes that the whole family loves - including the kids! Making good food choices and teaching my kids think about the food that they eat.

Leave a Reply

