Banana Bread Muffins – Wholemeal

Standard

My 5-year-old is a banana bread expert.  She cannot be fooled by any café that toasts banana bread to mask that it is indeed a day old.  She just won’t eat it.  Only once have I sent it back to the kitchen and asked for a refund.  The other times I just ate it to avoid a scene.  She knows the good stuff!

My problem with banana bread is the sugar.  One whole cup of white, refined sugar goes into every loaf.  I’m guessing there is even more sugar and unhealthy fats that go into cafe-style banana breads to make them taste so good.

As one of my friend’s once said, “Banana bread is an excuse to eat cake for breakfast.”  So true!  So my search and much experimentation went on to find a really yummy, cafe-style banana bread recipe that was actually good for you and that you could eat for breakfast.

I really love this recipe because it isn’t sweet with the honey, it is light despite the use of whole wheat flour and it’s really is the best homemade banana bread (muffins) I have ever made….and I have made a lot of banana bread!

Although this is a recipe for banana bread, I quite often make it as muffins as my 7-year-old won’t eat banana bread but he loves the muffins (Go figure…it’s the same recipe)

Enjoy!

Wholemeal Banana Muffins – makes about 11 muffins

1/3 cup of coconut oil, melted or vegetable oil

1/2 cup honey

2 eggs, beaten

1 cup mashed bananas

1 tsp vanilla

1/2 tsp cinnamon (optional)

1 3/4 cups whole wheat flour

1 tsp baking soda

Preheat oven to 190 degs C, 180 fan-forced (350deg F).

In a large mixing bowl, combine oil, honey, and eggs together* until well combined.  Stir in bananas and vanilla.

Gently stir in the flour, cinnamon, and baking soda until combined.

Divide batter into muffin tins

Bake for about 15-18 minutes.  Cool and enjoy!

*if using coconut oil, make sure your honey and eggs are at room temperature because the oil will quickly solidify within your mixture and will make it lumpy.

Want to make a loaf?

Pour batter into a 9×5 inch loaf pan and bake at 165degs C (325 degs F) for 50-60 minutes.  Cool slightly before slicing.

About theideasbook

Lover of yummy food! Would love a small farm or a plot of land to grow veggies and herbs on day. Until then, I seek to find the best foods around me (and what I can grow in pots!) to create divine recipes that the whole family loves - including the kids! Making good food choices and teaching my kids think about the food that they eat.

Leave a Reply

